Introductions

Hello all, my name is John.  I’m a gamer from the Metro Detroit area, and will soon be moving to the Washingon, DC metro area.  I’m writing this blog to share what I’ve learned about and from gaming with you, the rest of the gaming community.  Hopefully I can have the same impact on a new player as some of the existing sites have had on me.

So anyway, I’d like to start off with a quick list of what games I have played, plan to play, and want to play.  This is probably not comprehensive, memory being what it is, but it should give a rough idea of where my interests lie.

In tabletop games (That is the blog title, after all):

  • Warmachine: I’m just starting out with Warmachine, building an army for the Protectorate of Menoth.
  • Blood Bowl: I really enjoy this off-beat offering by Games Workshop, where I generally play Dark Elves.

In role-playing games:

  • Dungeons & Dragons edition 3.5: I still prefer this version for its versatility and depth.
  • Dungeons & Dragons 4th edition: I don’t and won’t have much to say here, other than the occasional mention that I’m playing.
  • Hackmaster 4th edition: Dice.  Control.  Everything.  And they hate you.
  • Serenity RPG: I’ve picked up the book and leafed through it.  I don’t really know enough to give a meaningful review here.

Video games:

  • Dragon Age: Origins (Xbox 360/PC): Love it, loved it.
  • Dragon Age II (PC, plan to get Xbox 360): Love it, loved it, just not quite as much.
  • Assassin’s Creed (PC/Xbox 360): You run, you sneak, you stab.  What’s not to love?
  • Assassin’s Creed II (PC/Xbox 360): There’s more?  And there’s even a great story line!
  • Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood (Xbox 360): The needed second half to Ezio’s story line.
  • Portal (Steam): Puzzles and a wisecracking AI out to kill you.  Loved it.
  • Portal 2 (Xbox 360): Valve’s magnum opus.
  • World of Warcraft (PC): It’s fun, to a point.  Then it becomes work.

I think that’s a good enough start for now.  Till next time!

